Health Services » Health Services

Health Services

The primary objective of school health services at Owasso Public Schools, as provided by the professional school nurse, is to strengthen the educational process of children and youth by assisting them to improve or adapt to their health status. To accomplish that end, the school nurses of Owasso Public Schools believe: 
 
  • Healthy children make better learners; therefore, attaining optimum health for each student is desirable and promotes the learning process. 
  • Modification of the general curriculum should be made to meet the needs of the physically, emotionally, socially, culturally, and intellectually challenged students.
  • A health curriculum which is current, factual, and applicable to today’s living prepares students to develop self-enhancing, healthful lifestyles. 
  • A safe, healthful school environment is conducive to learning. 

 

Nurses 

Seven full-time, registered nurses provide health services to the 14 school sites in Owasso Public School system.  All Owasso School Nurses have their Bachelors Degree in the Science of nursing and as a group have 163 years of nursing experience both in the hospital setting as well as community setting.  The Oklahoma State Department of Education certifies each of the nurses.  As professional members of the educational staff, the school nurses provide leadership in the areas of health services, health education, and maintaining a healthful school environment.    
 

Owasso Public Schools Nursing Staff  

Name

School Sites Served

From Left to Right:   
Debbie Holden, R.N. BSN High School East Campus & 7th Grade Center;  Debbie.Holden@owassops.org
Kellie Aylor, R.N. BSN Mills & Stone Canyon Elementary  Kellie.Aylor@owassops.org
Katrina Britton, R.N. BSN Hodson & Smith Elementary  Katrina.Britton@owassops.org
Cami Kasterke, R.N. BSN Ator & Barnes Elementary  Cami.Kasterke@owassops.org
Amy Grahlen, R.N. BSN 6th & 8th Grade Center  Amy.Grahlen@owassops.org
LeaAnna Zibell, R.N. BSN Bailey & Northeast Elementary  Leaanna.Zibell@owassops.org
Debbie Phillips, R.N. BSN
High School West Campus, Ram Academy & Coordinate Drug Testing for 6th - 12th Grade
Nurse.Phillips@owassops.org